Snow White

I have watched the show Once Upon a Time and the movie Snow White and the Huntsman. I understand that for live action storytelling, there are always limitations for casting. But in the story of Snow White, one of the essential plot points is supposed to be that Snow White is beautiful, more beautiful than the queen who was otherwise the fairest in the land. So I find it something of a disappointment to see Snow White being portrayed by women who are, at best, cute.

I know, that I should say such a thing is horrible. How dare I be so shallow? Phht. It is a major plot point to the story. The people making these movies and TV shows ought to try harder. I’m not saying Snow White has to look like a Barbie® doll, but cute does not qualify as the fairest in the land.

And why must Snow White continually be made into a warrior feminist heroine? The idea is not inherently bad, but every retelling recently seems to be trying this. In fact every fairy tale heroine lately seems to be remade as a strong warrior woman. I get the whole, “we’re not going to make her a ‘damsel in distress’” bit, but this is not daring anymore. And having the skinny woman who never seems to work out somehow able to overcome in armed combat swaths of large, muscular, trained fighting men is not necessary to make the heroine a strong female character.

When will we see someone do this right? 

And what the heckity darn was with the normal sized actors faces on the dwarves in Snow White and the Huntsman? Are there not seven short people to be found in Hollywood? Do their agents all suck? It reminded me of the nonsense Hollywood used to pull, like having Lee J. Cobb or Ricardo Montalbon play Asians. Or Jeff Chandler portraying Cochise. It was ridiculous then, and it is ridiculous now.

And the Snow White as messiah thing in the Hunstman version, I thought was poorly executed.

I get the impression that the writers are trying so hard to make Snow White, or insert your preferred fairy tale heroine here, so very strong and courageous and valiant that they forget to make her a person.

I’m not saying it has to be like the animated Disney version, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, but cannot someone treat this story with some respect?

Comments are closed.

