Answering Some Questions – Weakness

Day 6 of answering questions posed by Diane Owens.

Question #6
Having answered the last question….is your weakness really a weakness or something that society has pegged as a weakness?

Is my social ineptitude really a weakness? Yeah, I guess it is. It interferes with me being able to effectively communicate with people because they do not always understand me. I am usually straightforward and often blunt. I generally do not mess about with trying to couch what I say in softness. Which means that sometimes people take what I say as having an intent more harsh or more critical than I actually intend. And I have noticed that some people are so used to trying to hidden meaning in the way most people talk that they cannot grasp that I simply mean what I said and nothing more. All of which interferes with me being able to communicate clearly and effectively.

I am better than I used to be.

But there is a part of me that does want to blame society a bit. I do not fully understand why being direct and honest so often is interpreted as harsh. My sibling read a book some years back about how everything people say should be couched in uplifting, healing language. I did not read the book. For one, I am verbose enough as it is when I get to talking (as readers of this blog know). For another, I really do not want to have to put layers of softness into everything I say. I speak with softness when I think it is required. But most of the time I speak plainly. No one has to guess where I stand or what I think. Ask me, and I will tell you exactly. Why this ends up being barrier to communication I do not fully know.

I do know that some people are not used to it, and they take it badly. And some people, as I said, think there is some hidden meaning to what I say. Why is that my fault? Well, part of good communication is knowing how to communicate effectively with your audience. Maybe someday I will learn the fineries of small talk and tact. But don’t hold your breath.

One Response to “Answering Some Questions – Weakness”

  1. thedreamingsub Says:

    I have the same problem. Being too blunt, too direct, too honest.

    “fineries of small talk and tact.” That is why I have a hard time making friends. I have friends. I generally hold onto them for life or at least this has been the trend thus far. It’s just so hard to get past small talk with someone and I get bored with that five minutes in.

    As much as I am this way, I am still so ‘adjusted’ for dealing with society. It is hard to adjust back to my true nature when coming in contact with one of my own. It takes me a minute. But it is refreshing.

Comments are closed.

