Driving Tips

1) If you want to drive 10 m.p.h or more below the speed limit, have the courtesy for your fellow drivers to occasionally pull over and get out of the way of other people who are not out for a leisurely drive.

2) When the traffic light turns red, that means you are to stop your vehicle before entering the intersection. It does not mean that the next three vehicles that have not yet entered the intersection get to proceed, no matter how much of a hurry you might be in.

3) When the sign for the school zone speed limit indicates that the school zone is in effect when the lights next to the sign are flashing, that means when the lights are not flashing the school zone is not in effect.

4) When you drive two feet or less from my bumper, or I think you are, I will slow down. If I am in a good mood, I might speed up again to give you a chance not to tailgate. If you choose to tailgate anyway, I will slow down again. Driving your vehicle that close to the one in front of you is not safe. I repeat, it is not safe. Therefore if you tailgate me, I will reduce my speed to one at which your tailgating becomes less of a hazard. And when you raise your middle finger at me, I will smile back.

5) If you are in the wrong lane, do not swerve to cut someone else off or stop in the middle of your lane until you can change lanes. Drive past where you need to go, safely turn around, and come back to it.

6) Pay attention. Be aware of where you are and what is around you.

7) Don’t be an ass. You are not the only one with someplace to go.

One Response to “Driving Tips”

  1. thedreamingsub Says:

    I’d like to add be especially aware of motorcyclist and 18 wheelers. The first have no armor to protect them. The second have a lot more to worry about than the average driver. I went on a haul with a friend who drove a truck and got to see it from their perspective. It is harder than you think.

Comments are closed.

