What Is in a Name?

I know, I know. You are wondering why I do not have more to say about the political events going on right now. To be honest, I do not care about the Republican National Convention. But what did get my dander up is a story about a three-year-old boy who supposedly violated his school’s weapons policy just by saying his name.

Yes, just by saying his name. Apparently Hunter Spanjer is deaf, and the sign he uses to sign his own name has been considered a violation of his school’s weapon policy. According to a local news website for Grand Island, Nebraska:

“He’s deaf, and his name sign, they say, is a violation of their weapons policy,” explained Hunter’s father, Brian Spanjer.

Grand Island’s “Weapons in Schools” Board Policy 8470 forbids “any instrument…that looks like a weapon,” But a three year-old’s hands?

Indeed. But the thing is, someone at the school or the school board or whoever made this stupid rule, needs to reconsider the policy. I am going to guess that the sign young Hunter uses for his name reminds someone of a handgun. Which means it would be against school policy for a student to hold his hand with index finger pointing, thumb upright and other fingers curled. This is ridiculous.

Seems to me, incidents like this should illustrate the foolishness of the policy. But rather than have a story about someone at the school calling for a change in policy, we instead have a story about someone at the school saying the child needs to change the way he says his name.

To borrow a phrase from “Teahouse of the August Moon”, what happened to the American spirit of rebellion? Have we become a nation of people who just follow rules? Why does questioning the rules seem so rare?

Yeah, I know, it is a dumb argument for a Dominant to make. But I expect people in authority to have the decent sense to question the rules when the rules stop making sense.

4 Responses to “What Is in a Name?”

  1. No one should blindly follow orders and obey the rules without questioning them no matter whom we are.

  2. Part of your post reminded me of something I saw…
    I wanted to share.

Comments are closed.

