Thoughts on Christmas

Okay, boys and girls, it is time I wrote a Christmas post. And just so there is no confusion, I state here at the outset that I am going to talk about this from a Christian perspective. If that irritates you, now is your chance to scramble off to some other holiday post on some other blog. For those of you still with me, let us proceed.

Yeah, I do think Christmas is a Christian holiday. While I suppose it is true enough to say that one does not have to be a Christian to celebrate Christmas, but celebrating the birth of a Savior in whom you do not believe seems quite ridiculous. And yes, that is what Christmas is for.

Christmas is not for wishing for world peace. Christmas is not for secular pronouncements of brotherly love. It is not for giving gifts to one another (yes, we do that but such is not the reason for the holiday) or having parties or being kind to others. Christmas is a Christian holiday, a celebration of the birth of the Savior of the world.

Yes, I know all about the Saturnalia, and all that. If you want to celebrate during the end of December, and have parties and exchange gifts without being Christian, by all means do so. I am not saying you cannot or should not. Enjoy yourself. And if you invite me, I might even join you. That does not change the fact that Christmas is a Christian holiday.

But Christ was born in the blah blah blah. So what? Spring, winter, summer or fall, the point is to celebrate the birth of Christ. That is why it is called Christmas.

But Jesus was not blah blah blah yackity schmackity. So? No one is saying you cannot have your own celebration. Celebrate Festivus (for the rest of us) for all I care. But if you tell me “Christmas is for everybody, not just Christians,” chances are good I am not going to take your opinion seriously.

Yes, I suppose that is considered old fashioned these days, but I don’t care.

But I write all that smut on my blog. Yep. I am a sinner. I do sinful things. So? I did not say I was a saint. And that does not change that Christmas is a Christian holiday.

Again, no one is saying non-Christians cannot celebrate. By all means, celebrate. Have a good time. But don’t be offended when I say “Merry Christmas.” I am not trying to offend you. I am wishing you well. Take it as such.

I am not a fan of “Happy Holidays.” Just pick a holiday. Say “Happy Hanukkah” or “Festive Festivus” or maybe just “Have a nice day.” I won’t be offended. “Happy Holidays” won’t offend me either, but I consider it bland and wishy-washy.

And now—fair warning—I am going to get a bit theological.

For those of you who celebrate Christmas, my Christmas wish for you is that you think on Christ’s birth and life and death and resurrection, and that in doing so you experience a large measure of wonder and joy. May your life be full of merriment, your mind be full of peace and happiness, your heart be full of joy and your soul be full of Love. May the Light of Life lead you to awe and marvel at the astonishing event of Christ’s birth, and draw you to Him.

For everyone, I hope you have a good time in whatever celebrations you choose to partake. Be safe and merry, and be not alone. Find the comfort of others and become better than you were yesterday. May you find hope and peace and love and joy. Be good to one another. And remember, when family and friends get on your nerves this season of celebration, we are all only human, and give those family and friends the patience you hope they would give to you.

Doms, be sure you give your subs a special gift to show how much you appreciate their presence in your lives.

Subs, be sure to demonstrate in a special way to your Doms how grateful you are to have them in your lives.

If I do not post again until January, I want to say thank you all for reading my blog. And thank you to all who take the time to comment. I do appreciate it. There will be more to the stories I have begun, and more stories after that. And more long-winded political ranting excellent writing on my political opinions, and possibly some posts on theology. And no doubt there will be more thoughts on D/s in general.

Be good, students, and in the new year there may be a contest with a special short story by me as a prize. Maybe, if you are good.

Thank you all again. Be good. Be merry. Be safe.

Merry Christmas.

One Response to “Thoughts on Christmas”

  1. Tabitha Says:

    I love that you stated “yep, I am a sinner, I do sinful things”. It’s refreshing and honest. I am Christian, a submissive, although have just started to realize I can’t fake living in a vanilla relationship anymore. Lying to myself has never worked, and is/has caused me too much unwanted pain. Your blogs are helping me. Thank you.

Comments are closed.

