Something You Should Understand Before We Begin

There is something you should understand before we begin.

I am not what you expect.

I am something other.

If you want conventional, I am not your man.

Understand now that I am outside your experience.

I am not your plan.

I am something other.

If you believe you know me, then you are wrong.

I am not going to provide what you expect.

I may seem nice to you.

I am not that nice.

I am not going to give you what you think you want.

Your preconceived notions are completely wrong.

I am not the man you think.

I am something other.

So wipe the knowing smile off your face.

You have no frame of reference for what I am.

I am not the nice guy.

I am the secret beast.

Even as I say that, you have no idea what I truly am.

Doctor Jekyll and Mister Hyde are less complex than I am.

I am not the stereotype.

I am not the simple man.

I am not even the bad guy your mother warned you about.

I am something outside all of your experience.

What I am you do not know.

I am not your plan.

You have no frame of reference for what I truly am.

You smile and think that I am merely joking.

This is not a joke.

This is the reality.

If you believe you know me, then you are very wrong.

I am only what I am, and I am nothing more.

I can be nice.

I can be beastly.

I am all of that, and I am much, much more.

You are not prepared for this in any of your dreams.

I am not simple.

I am not complicated.

What I am is more complex than you right now can realize.

I am something outside the whole of your experience.

Yes, you should be afraid.

Yes, I am very good.

Understand now that I am outside of your experience.

Understand that you may never fully understand at all.

And that is okay.

I am something other.

There is something you should understand before we begin.

I am not going to give you what you think you want.

I am not the simple man.

I am not your plan.

What I am is only me and that is all I am going to be.

You understanding me is not what I require.

I am not the stereotype.

I am something other.

Your preconceived notions are completely wrong.

If you can grasp and accept that, then we can begin.

This is not a joke.

This is the reality.

This is something you should understand before we begin.

16 Responses to “Something You Should Understand Before We Begin”

  1. Well, I think that about sums it up. She has been given fair warning and a good warning at that.

  2. Serendipity1972 Says:

    When can we begin?

    • Thank you. I am flattered. Your first question, however, should be “What would we begin?”

      Anyway, welcome to my blog. Always nice to have new commenters.

  3. Serendipity1972 Says:

    I am glad you took it the right way! I have been reading your blog for some time now. I have read a lot of poems from the subs point of view and it was refreshing to read one from a Dominants point of view.

    I had to think hard about why I might ask ‘what would we begin’ but I suppose I would be relying upon you for that frame of reference! Oh and also you are quite right, I did have preconceived notions!

    Your blog is excellent.

    • Thank you.

      Don’t you think, though, you should have some idea what you might be asking to begin before you ask to begin it?

  4. Serendipity1972 Says:

    Yes, I probably should. There is something about the idea of an organic bond that is so alluring though. The words to me seem to hint towards gaining the trust between a dom and his sub. A two way dynamic.

    ‘You are not prepared for this in any of your dreams’ – so knowing may be futile?
    ‘I am not going to give you what you think you want’ – so thinking you know what you want to begin with is pretty pointless.
    ‘Understand that you may never fully understand at all’ – as above.
    ‘I am not your plan’ – so having a plan in mind again is pointless.
    ‘You understanding me is not what I require’ – your desire to understand the sub?
    ‘Your preconceived notions are completely wrong’. – so even knowing what you are about to begin may be still be influenced by these preconceived notions.
    ‘If you can grasp and accept that, then we can begin’ – this suggests you want to start this without the sub knowing what is to come…

    This doesn’t change the fact that submission should be earned to allow the dominance to be expressed. A two way dynamic? It is like the dom here is warning the sub that this is not going to be easy – quite considerate and worth respect at the onset.

    I am probably very naive!

    Love the poem though x

  5. Serendipity1972 Says:

    Of course, i am presuming you are talking about D/s. You could be having it out with your psychiatrist!!

    • You are correct in some ways and incorrect in others. And yes, I am talking about D/s. But the rest of my comments should saved for a private discussion.

  6. Thank you for the deep, shared thoughts.

    Very powerful, thought-provoking, and best yet! Real!

    I’m going to enjoy reading the rest of your “works.”

    Merci
    deb

  7. Sir, I respectfully ask, what would we begin, and my next would be how would it help me? I know not what to expect and yesterday and today has proven that to me (in regards to submission). The timing of reading this now, has given me the courage to ask… Is it normal for someone who is new to embracing her submissive side to feel trepidation, off kilter or an amount of anxiety, after having experienced such a wonderfully calming and peaceful experience as I did following the first time I performed sub assignment 4? Normally I would think one could find a trigger or an underlying cause or maybe I’m too close to see it. When my anxiety surfaced I tried kneeling and saying the mantra again (I’ll add this to my journal shortly), it was soothing but there is still some underlying trepidation. Thank you Sir.

    • What would we begin? Oh, that depends on many things, Kate, but that is a discussion for another time. How would it help you? In various ways, some simple, some complex, some obvious and some mysterious.

      Is it normal for someone new to embracing her submissive side to feel trepidation and anxiety? Yes. You are stepping into something new, something if not entirely unknown, not entirely known either. It is outside the usual path that you have followed. You knew what to expect before, or thought you did, but now you are not sure what changes or trouble may be ahead. This is perfectly natural.

      Kneeling and repeating the mantra is good. I also recommend simply taking a moment, here and there, to breathe. This is advice I give all submissives. There are a few easy breathing exercises you can try. Breathe deeply and slowly three times. For a couple of minutes, breathe slow and easy while you focus on counting your breaths. Stop whatever you are doing to close your eyes, breathe slowly, feel yourself breathing and count the inhale as one and the exhale as two, as in a simple rhythm: one, two, one, two, one, two. These things help calm the body and help refocus the mind. And they are things you can do nearly anywhere and almost any time.

      • Thank you Sir. I’ve used breathing before, my difficulty is in recognizing when I should do so. If something hits me all of a sudden, that is easy to detect, but when the feelings arise slowly then I can be well into it and struggling before I remember to breath.

Comments are closed.

