Project August: Day 1 – “Can a Submissive Be a Feminist?”

What is Project August? Well, here at Liberate One World Headquarters, Project August is my plan to post every day in the month of August of the year A.D. 2013. But that is not all. Every post during the month of August will be a response to a post on some other blog. Yes, you could see your blog mentioned right here at Liberate One.

I know, that news excites you, but take a deep breath and calm down. Breathe for a moment. Inhale. Exhale. Good.

On this Thursday night, August 1, 2013, the first post of Project August is a response to a post I found over at linasacher.com, “Can a Submissive Be a Feminist?

Her answer to the question is this:

I minored in Women’s Studies in College and so I have read enough feminist theory to last me a lifetime and happen to know that there isn’t one school of thought that unites all feminist thought. Everyone’s got an opinion. Thankfully, this isn’t a paper on feminist theory. I just might poke my eyes out if it were. The point in discussing the differences in feminist thought is that the one underlying thought that DOES, in fact, unite most feminist thought is that feminism is about equality in Civil Rights, equal opportunity, equal value, and the freedom to make CHOICES about how to live life in a way that is most fulfilling to each individual woman (or man or transgendered or however the person identifies) without being shamed for it.

That means that if a woman chooses to act on her submissive cravings and explore unequal power dynamics in her sexual relationships and maybe even extend that to other parts of her life – choosing a subservient role in the relationship, then that means she is fulfilling HER desires. This makes her strong and powerful in a way. She is actively seeking out the fulfillment to her desires. That is empowering. That is feminism. At least to me that is what feminism stands for.

And I pretty much agree. There is nothing about submission that inherently means a submissive woman cannot be a feminist. And most submissive women, I would guess, are feminist to some degree.

And I will go even further. A Dominant man can be a feminist too. Yes, I said it. One can believe in women having the liberty to choose their own lives and still be a Dominant male who seeks the personal satisfaction of a D/s relationship. To think this cannot be is to be small-minded. And wrong. I know a Dominant man can also be a feminist because I am both.

That sound you just heard was a thousand liberal feminists grunting in disgust.

Voluntary submission is not about suppressing oneself, but about expressing oneself. And as I have said many times before, being a good submissive requires strength and intelligence. And in a proper D/s relationship both the Dominant and the submissive are uplifted and empowered to be mentally and emotionally fulfilled. Women who are submissive by nature and who seek to submit voluntarily to a Dominant of their choosing are seeking personal empowerment and emotional fulfillment no less than the women who seek personal empowerment and emotional fulfillment through business careers or vanilla relationships, et cetera.

I am sure there are feminists out there who would vehemently disagree. But I will say something else I have said here before. If the goal of feminism is empowering women to decide for themselves what they want and not having their life choices determined for them, then the choice of a woman to submit must be part of that freedom. To say women should be free but they are not allowed to choose these things of which we do not approve, is to merely exchange one set of gender rules for another.

I do not feel I need to or should go on, because I already have two other whole posts about my thoughts on feminism.

So begins Project August. What will I write about tomorrow? You will just have to come back and see.

3 Responses to “Project August: Day 1 – “Can a Submissive Be a Feminist?””

  1. “If the goal of feminism is empowering women to decide for themselves what they want and not having their life choices determined for them, then the choice of a woman to submit must be part of that freedom. To say women should be free but they are not allowed to choose these things of which we do not approve, is to merely exchange one set of gender rules for another.”

    EXACTLY!!! I agree 100%. I also agree that a Dominant man can absolutely be a feminist. Anyone can be a feminist. It’s civil rights – anyone can be a civil rights activist.

  2. Also – thank you for including my blog in Project August!

Comments are closed.

