I’ve Been Doing That Thing Again

For several days, I had a head cold. Which made staring at my computer screen for long periods of time uncomfortable.  Which is a partial explanation of why I have not put up a post for a week. Want to know the rest? Keep reading.

My time away from the computer gave me some not working time, and that lead me to doing that thing again. You know, that thing I do that is so dangerous. What’s it called… oh yeah. I was thinking.

Whilst mentally masticating through a vast array of matters, issues, ideas, concerns, problems and enigmas, I spent some of my time thinking about you, O much valued readers, and this blog. And in that… What? No, I said masticating. Look it up.

Where was I? Ah. I was thinking about you, O readers, and this blog. And in that thinking I began to realize I was not being consistent enough with my posting schedule. I have not been doing my best here. There are several reasons for that. But none of them are really any of your business. And I’ll thank you not to get personal. Kidding. Sort of. Anyway, I eventually got around to the realization that if I intend to build this blog up into something worthwhile, then I need to spend more time getting posts up more regularly and more frequently.

I have seen it said that for a blog to be successful, the blogger should post at least once a day if not more. Well, living dangerously sort of fellow that I am, I am not going to do that. I will attempt to have three posts a week. Why I am telling you about this? I’m very glad you asked.

What I need is more comments and questions from you, O beloved readers. Otherwise I may be in danger of simply repeating myself repeating myself repeating myself, and nobody wants that. I can explain that tax cuts are not expenditures only so many times before it becomes tedious. What? What do you mean it already is? Anyway, the more comments and questions I can get, the more I can talk about things you want to read, rather than just the things I want to blather about.

Well, yes, even with your comments and questions, there will still be rants and discourses about the things I want to talk about. This is my blog. This has to be fun for me too.

Anyway, I know some of you are wondering about that plan I mentioned a few posts back. No, this is not that plan. There were not a sufficient number of individual commenters for that post, so you do not get to know that plan. However, soon you will get another chance to learn the plan. If you are good, that is.

And still more anyway, all that thinking I was doing about the blog and you turned into thinking about how I was going to make all this happen. And I decided to take a little more time away from the blog after I got over the head cold. I wanted some time to consider what I should be putting up here and when. And that is the rest of why I have not put up a post for a week.

Starting next week I will be attempting three posts a week. Will I be able to make that happen? You will just have to come back every day for the rest of your life to find out.

And that is how I will take over the world. Wait… did I just say that out loud? Um, no, I am not not trying to take over the world. Absolutely not. Preposterous. Why even bring it up?

Where was I? Oh, yeah. So anyway, read my blog as many times a day every day as you possibly can. And then leave me comments and questions. Rinse and repeat.

I suppose alternately you could leave me questions and comments. Your choice. Just pick one and do it.

Remember, we’re all in this together. And knowing is half the battle. Or something like that.

And if four swallows had a net, and each swallow held a corner of the net, would those four swallows then be able to use the net to carry the coconut?

Um, I should end this before it descends any further into incoherence.

Thank you, and good night. Or day. Or whatever.

– – – – –

Postscript

For you poor souls who have not yet been introduced to the notion of swallows carrying coconuts, in mercy (or perhaps mischievousness) I do here by offer this video clip:

14 Responses to “I’ve Been Doing That Thing Again”

  1. It started with mastication and ended with a Monty Python excerpt, I like where you go with your thinking. (It is a shame that we readers didn’t provide enough comments to hear the end of that particular plan.)

  2. Mischievous indeed today:-) I enjoy your posts a great deal and will check every day.

  3. Once again you’ve captured my attention. I’m trying to imagine your features now.

  4. I can’t wait to read your posts. They are very informative. Thank you for enlightening me.

  5. Sir,
    Sorry to hear about the head cold, they can be nasty buggers. I hope you are feeling better by now. If not, I respectfully suggest you try some honey and ginger tea.

    I do have something that came to mind today that might make for an interesting topic: I am a single parent, who has discovered she is submissive. My daughter is 11 her personality appears to be dominant. In rearing children and guiding them, even if they have dominant personalities they take on a submissive role. How do you suggest a submissive help to guide a child who is dominant so his/her dominant personality is not undermined or considered an unwelcome part of who she is?

    Thank you, Sir.

    • That would indeed be an interesting topic for a post. I will add it to the list.

    • I thought about this a little more, and I feel there is something I should say now, before I get to eventually writing a full post about it. Do not be too quick to conclude what a child will be. The ways submission is expressed are not the same for every submissive. There are outgoing submissives and introverted submissives, and bold submissives and reserved submissives. Certainly one wants to nurture a child so that she feels comfortable as who she is. But at the same time, we as adults should not start defining for them who they are expected to be. Even as we try to teach children good behavior, we have to leave room for them to find out for themselves who they are, whether that is dominant, submissive or whatever. To keep this brief, my direct answer to your question of how do you guide a child is this: teach the child that whoever she is, she has the power to find and define herself; also that whoever she is, she can be the best version of herself and to strive to be that no matter what anyone else tells her.

      • Sir. Thank you. I agree. I see both submissive and dominant traits in her. With me and others she has trouble expressing her wants or needs, which I am trying to help her with. With her peers in certain situations she attempts to control, especially when they begin to be quite out of control. Her karate instructor also sees her potential for leadership. I encourage her to try and step out of her comfort zone to see if leadership would be a good direction for her however she resists. I will continue to encourage her to learn about herself. Thank you. Sir.

  6. Sir, I just came across this blog today, http://thevirtualpolitician.wordpress.com/ thought maybe you would be interested in seeing what he has to say and commenting. I know how you enjoy target practice. Have a nice day, Sir.

Comments are closed.

